Faith, Family

But by the grace of God I am what I am // Easter 2021

Living, He loved me
Dying, He saved me
Buried, He carried my sins far away
Rising, He justified freely forever

Happy Easter Friends!

We had such a lovely day celebrating Jesus’ resurrection and I hope you all did too.

Our day started off bright and early with a 9am church service. It was a great service reminding us of what Easter is all about. We read from 1 Corinthians 15. I loved verse 10: “But by the grace of God I am what I am, and his grace to me was not without effect.”

After church, we headed to my parents’ house for lunch and some activities. We started with decorating cookies. We thought it would be fun to give Hazel some sprinkles and let her shake them over some sugar cookies. Our sweet little lady poured the entire container of sprinkles on one cookie. 😀 So we ended up just grabbing from the pile to get some on the other cookies. When asked if she could say sprinkles, she grabbed a handful and shoved them into her mouth. Priceless!

Once the cookies were in the oven, we moved on to dying eggs. I haven’t dyed eggs in years, but I really wanted to start the tradition again. I grabbed the egg dye kits and was just going to bring a carton of eggs. I had no clue you are supposed to hard boil your eggs and have vinegar, luckily my mom came through! We only did six eggs – one for each of us – but turned out Hazel wasn’t too into it. She dropped one egg into the dye before bursting into tears and refusing to do any more. I think when she heard eggs, she thought she was going to get to eat them.

Since it was a small bunch of us this year, we kept it simple. A cookout. Burgers, chips, and deviled eggs… what else do you need?

We didn’t have time to do her Easter basket before church (and I actually kind of liked that!), so we took it over to my parents and Hazel got to open it there. She wasn’t too interested in her stuffed narwhal or the book, but wanted me to open the chalk right away and we played with the ring toss game right off the bat. I’d call it a win! Also, I’m sure this goes without saying, but we don’t do the Easter Bunny. Our kids will know that their baskets are gifts from Jeremiah and I – they are gifts in representation of God giving us the greatest gift of His son.

Once her basket was emptied, she was ready for her first egg hunt! While she was napping, Jeremiah and I went out and hid all the eggs. We didn’t hide them too hard, but we did give her some freebies just laying in plain sight. She was so cute out there looking for the eggs. She wasn’t too interested in finding them all and then opening them, but instead wanted to open them as she found them. With coaxing, she would look for them – pointing and saying the color before grabbing it. Eventually, she got them all. She had a blast opening them up and getting all the goodies inside – no candy, just little toys like bouncy balls, bracelets, and stickers.

It was such a wonderful, relaxing day. Lots of family, lots of fun, and lots of laughter. Couldn’t have asked for a better holiday!

1 thought on “But by the grace of God I am what I am // Easter 2021”

Leave a comment