Pregnancy

A Shower Celebrating Our New Muggle to Snuggle

This past weekend, Jeremiah and I had our shower celebrating our precious Jameson Taylor. It was so low-key and fun! I am so thankful to everyone who was a part of making the shower so special.

Theme

A Little Muggle is on the Way!

I have always been a big fan of Harry Potter. I got really into it while visiting family when I was in fourth grade. Reading the books and then enjoying the movies. It’s something I want to share with my kids, so this theme is really fun and special to me.

Decor

The Harry Potter theme was really up my diagon alley. I loved how simple the decor was. Honestly, the decorations were so vintage and sustainable… I think the hosts might have only bought one or two items.

Being a HP fan, I already had the books and onesies. The letter board and ultrasound picture were already decor in my house. My mom wrapped old boxes in butcher paper for the parcels. The red curtains were already in my kitchen, so really only the banner was new.

I truly loved how straightforward it all was. Nothing over the top, but precious and cute none-the-less!

Snacks

Okay, the snack spread was hella good! Let’s start with the speciality Harry Potter themed cookies – I normally don’t eat cookies, but I gave these a shot and wooooooow – not to mention so stinking adorable! My cousin made howlers to go with the theme and they were too funny and cute. The butterbeer was a quirky touch as well!

For the Food:

  • speciality cookies
  • chocolate pretzel sticks
  • popcorn
  • “howler” pastries
  • muffins
  • fruit tray
  • veggie tray
  • cheese and cracker tray

For the Drinks:

  • butterbeer
  • soda
  • water

Games & Activities

In my opinion stuff to do at showers is hit or miss and depends on the crowd, but I think these just right!

  • sign Jameson’s first Harry Potter book
  • late night diapers
  • how big is mom’s belly
  • free dobby – guess how many socks in the jar
  • mom or dad

The activity of signing Jameson’s first Harry Potter book is really special for me, because the first Harry Potter book I received has special meaning to me. On the previously mentioned trip visiting family, I was so bored. We were staying with my PaPaw and I just picked up the first HP book off his shelf. I started it and couldn’t it put it down. I took it with me everywhere we went. I had finished it by the end of the week, so he let me take the second book with me on the drive home – I had it finished in twelve hours. At the time only 4 HP books were written, so he mailed me all the ones he had. From then on, every time a new Harry Potter book would come out, he would mail it to me. It was something I loved and always looked forward to. I don’t know if reading will be important to Jameson, but if it is, I hope this activity will kickstart a special memory of this book series for him like the one I have.

The mom and dad game was basically just a list of questions where people had to guess whether it was the mom or dad. This game turned out to be a lot of fun as people argued about whether they could choose both, read the question wrong, or even add in my mom as a choice. My childhood friend got all but one question right!

A classic shower game is the how big is mom’s belly and it’s truly one of my favorites! It cracks me up that both times a guy has won. Sometimes people go crazy long and it just makes you wonder. šŸ˜€

Guests

In the wake of the pandemic, I wasn’t sure how people would feel about coming together for a party. I was actually against the idea of a shower, but my mom really wanted me to have one, so she and my cousin set out to make it happen. I am so grateful for the friends and family who came out to support us and encourage us in our growing family! I love each and every one of you so dearly. ā¤

A huge thank you to my amazing mom and sweet cousin who planned and prepared this shower for us. It’s no easy feat, but we had a wonderful time and felt 100% showered with love.

6 thoughts on “A Shower Celebrating Our New Muggle to Snuggle”

Leave a comment